As far back as 6,000 years ago, Hong Kong's residents had lived in the coastal areas and lived on fishing, cultivating and hunting. In the Qin Dynasty, Hong Kong was affiliated with Panyu County and was subordinated to Boluo County during the Han Dynasty. Officials from the royal court went to Hong Kong to manage salt production, pearl mining and trade activities. During the war in the Song Dynasty, a large number of people from the Mainland migrated to Hong Kong. Hong Kong's economic and cultural development also gradually developed.

In 1848, the Qing court defeated the Opium War, Sino-British signed the "Nanjing Treaty," and Hong Kong Island was officially occupied by Britain. In 1860, China signed the "Beijing Treaty" with Britain and France. Britain further occupied Kowloon and Stonecutters Island. In June 1898, the United Kingdom forced the Qing government to sign the“Special Extension of Hong Kong's Border Sites, renting 230 islands to the north of the Boundary Street to the south of the Shenzhen River and Lantau Island for a period of 99 years and calling it the“New Territories''. On July 1, 1997, the United Kingdom transferred Hong Kong's sovereignty and power to the People's Republic of China. The colonial history of Hong Kong has finally ended in nearly 150 years.


More than 90% of population in Hong Kong are Chinese. Together with the British colony in the past more than 100 years, Hong Kong's Eastern and Western cultures are eclectic in a unique historical context, creating a rich variety of life cultures, temples that are over 100 years old, or unique buildings. Churches can be seen everywhere on the streets. The British brought horse racing in Hong Kong during the colonial period and became one of the most popular entertainments for Hong Kong people.


Hong Kong is located on the southern coast of China, with Guangdong Province in the north, the Pearl River estuary in the west, and the South China Sea in the south, with a land area of 1104.4 square kilometers. It consists of Hong Kong Island, the Kowloon Peninsula and the New Territories. Victoria Harbour is between Hong Kong Island and the Kowloon Peninsula, while the New Territories is bordered by Mainland China. In terms of climate, Hong Kong has four distinct seasons and the weather is generally mild. The spring is roughly March to April. The weather is humid, with occasional light rain and heavy fog. From May to August, the summer is hot and humid with occasional thunderstorms. The temperature often exceeds 30 degrees during the day. Autumn is from September to October, and most of the time is sunny and crisp. In winter, from November to February the following year, it is cold and dry, with cold fronts passing through the area, and the temperature can drop to below 10 degrees.