New Territories & Islands

NT & Islands

Half of the population of Hong Kong is in the New Territories. With the rapid development of Hong Kong Island and Kowloon, the Government develops new towns in the New Territories to increase the space for development. Therefore, most new towns such as Tuen Mun, Sha Tin, Ma On Shan, Tsing Yi and Fanling Both Kwai Chung and Tseung Kwan O have rapidly developed in recent years. Since the airport’s relocation to Lantau Island from Kai Tak, Hong Kong Disneyland and Ngong Ping 360 have settled on Lantau Island, the traffic connecting the New Territories and the outlying islands has also developed.